The Avosetta Group is a small informal group of lawyers whose main purpose is to further the development of environmental law in the European Union and its Member States. "Avosetta" is the Latin name of a rare bird which caused the European Court of Justice to establish far reaching principles of European nature protection law in the German Leybucht Case. The group held its inaugural meeting at Bremen University in January 2001.

The current members are Alexandra Aragão, Gyula BándiSanja Bogojević, Jan Darpö, Jonas Ebbesson, Ari Ekroos, Astrid Epiney, Ole Kristian Fauchald, Kars J. de Graaf, Nathalie Herve-Fournereau, Barbara Iwanska, Ilona Jancarova, Jan H. Jans, Jerzy Jendroska, Simon Jolivet, Vassiliki Karagiorgou, Markus Kern, Rajko Knez, Ludwig Kraemer, Luc Lavrysen, Richard Macrory, Verena Madner, Zaneta Mikosa, Massimiliano Montini, Angel-Manuel Moreno, Lana Ofak, Marco Onida, Emanuela Orlando, Peter Pagh, Áine Ryall, Nicolas de Sadeleer, Eloise Scotford, Agustín García Ureta, Hannes Veinla, Jiri Vodicka, Bernhard Wegener, Gerd Winter, and Nükhet Yılmaz Turgut. Liam-Joseph Cashman is a permanent guest.

Those participating in Avosetta are invited out of recognition of their outstanding distinction in European environmental law. They take part in a personal and independent capacity. Nevertheless, Avosetta discussions aim to reflect a comprehensive cross-section of legal cultures within Europe, and will generally include up to two participants from each Member and accession State.

The group meets about once a year in order to discuss a topic of significance for EU environmental law. The meeting will normally result in policy recommendations which shall be submitted to the EU-institutions and also published for wider use in the Member States. The proceedings of the meeting and accompanying discussion documents are accessible through the present website. Opinions of the Avosetta Group can be found here.

Secretariat: Institute of German, European and International Public Law,
Schillerstraße 1, 91052 Erlangen, Email: